Comic Books and Burgers

I was kinda inspired to do this because of the next “Dark Knight” movie. This version of batman isn’t really that threatening though.

Well, I’m officially 33 as of last Saturday (Cinco de Mayo… and FREE COMIC BOOK DAY!). It was a fun-filled weekend. On Saturday Sara and I went to Milwaukee to visit a few places. First on my agenda was Lost World of Wonders comic shop. I decided on splurging on “TNMT: Ultimate Collection Vol. 2.” It was free comic book day and the lines were pretty long so we decided to bypass it. We then went next door to American Science and Surplus where you can find everything from a bag of marbles to weird military surplus gas masks. If you want a 5 lb. bag of rubber bands, they have that too! Pretty awesome place! We swung by Daly’s Pen Shop as well, which I guess is the oldest pen store in the U.S. We ended our trip with a late lunch at Solly’s Grille which has the best butter burgers I’ve had. This place actually puts a huge wad of whipped butter on their burgers… A dream for fat Wisconsinites like myself. So all in all the first day of my 33rd year was a success. 🙂

My next big step in the book process is writing an artist statement for myself as an artist and an artist statement for the book itself. I think writing out what I’m about and what I want to accomplish with this book will keep me more focused on the task at hand. So by next week I should have those for anyone willing to look at this humble blog o’ mine. Thanks for stopping’ by!

A sketch of batman I did before the watercolor on the top. I don’t think DC would ever hire me. lol

Leave a Reply

