Journal Entry #30

guitar redneckHello friends. It’s time for a another blog-o-entry! I’ll try to keep this one short. I’m still working on the children’s book. I’ve finished the thumbnails and did a little re-arranging of the scenes. A few of the scenes seemed out of place where they were so I switched them around. The thumbnail stage is the perfect time to do this since you haven’t spent so much time drawing and and coloring a a whole massive page. I’m now working on the book dummy, which for those who don’t know, is a loosely drawn version of the actual book. I’m using the dummy as a way to see if the story still flows well. I’m not stay strictly to my thumbnail drawings of the pages either. I’m trying to make each page more dynamic than what I might of done on the thumbnail. I only have four pages of the dummy drawn but I’m still feeling good about it. I’m going to leave the harder pages for last. I don’t want to give too much away but there is a traffic scene and factory scene I’m not looking forward to draw. I don’t know If I mentioned it in previous blogs but I’ve decided to illustrate the book with a french grey colored pencil and water color. I like the look of the pencil over the the harsher black ink.

I’ve been researching other children’s book authors as well. I recently read “Show Me A Story” that has interviews with around 20 children’s book authors including Maurice Sendak. Yesterday I borrowed a book from the library on Sendak and only now am I appreciating his work. I’ve also been visiting the  children’s section of the library which makes me feel a little weird but there are books that I hear about and want to check out in person. Other children’s book authors that I’ve become interested in are Satoshi Kitamura, Oliver Jeffers, Peter Sis, Lisbeth Zwerger, William Steig and Mo Willems.

I’ve been reading things and it seems the only way to get published by a real publisher is if you have an agent. And agents won’t take you on unless you have something great to show. There is one agency I’ve been  looking at that illustrators need to have an online portfolio. So the little drawing above is going to be part of my online portfolio. I have other stuff that can go online but I want to have an impressive selection of art to look at before I create anything permanent.

OK, that’s all for now folks! Thanks for reading! New comic tomorrow, Monday! PEACE!

 

2 thoughts on “Journal Entry #30

  1. John Gruse says:

    I like the warm simplicity and easy-going nature of this style…and staying with the gray pencil is a good decision. I think children will be comfortable with this kind of communication…the loose, freehand caption underneath works well with the drawing, too.

Leave a Reply

