Journal Entry #26

About a 2 hour sketch from my sketchbook.

About a 2 hour sketch from my sketchbook..

Hey everyone! Hope you are all doing great this year. So far this year has been pretty good. I have been trying to stay productive. Part of my productivity includes working more in my sketchbooks. I have plenty of empty or half filled books laying around that are just begging to be filled. So I told myself that I’m not buying another sketchbook until all of the ones i have are filled. I’ve been working on the human form a lot because I have trouble drawing it and I’m never satisfied with the way I draw it. I’m trying to make my drawings a little less stiff and more life-like, especially with body movement. I want this to be the year that I really get involved in drawing and hopefully I can track my progress.  I’ve been watching a lot of youtube videos of people showing off their sketchbooks and that has inspired me… and discourages me sometimes. I see all these art school animators showing their sketchbooks and there doesn’t seem to be a stinker in the bunch… even when they point one out that they don’t like.

So yeah, not much else to say. I hope you’re all liking the comic. I really need to get more used to the graphic tablet though. I like drawing toward myself and it’s hard to get used to a stationary tablet that doesn’t have much movement. That is probably the biggest challenge, I think I’m pretty used to not seeing my hand drawing it’s just not being able to turn the virtual paper that is weird to me. If there is anyone that has advice please let me know. Thanks for reading and I hope you come back for the new comic on Monday!

3 thoughts on “Journal Entry #26

  1. timbush222 says:

    When I use my wacom tablet, I sometimes lean or rest the top on the desk and sit the bottom on my lap. This makes it more fun. There are also repositionable arms that can hold the tablet. Kind of like a robot arm that can hold things. I have one for my monitor. Look on Amazon and type monitor arm or keyboard holder, something like that. Digital is fun, but takes some getting used to.

    • Matt says:

      Hey, thanks for the advice. I’ll give it a try. Digital is cool because you can still get the nice lines with no messy ink. I’m still struggling at making nice, solid lines but I’ll keep at it. Thank you so much for the comment, I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

