Journal Entry #20

This is just a card I drew for Sara's nephew who's a marine stationed in Japan. I'm thinking of deleting his name and using it as a Christmas card.

This is just a card I drew for Sara’s nephew who’s a marine stationed in Japan. I’m thinking of deleting his name and using it as a Christmas card.

Hey guys. I’m sorry but there be no comic today. My mom had to be admitted to the hospital this past Wednesday because her blood sugar levels were in the 600s which could have killed her. She is doing fine now and will probably even get to go home today. She hasn’t been to a doctor since I was born (34 years ago) so she could have probably prevented getting diabetes. She has to take insulin and keep tabs on her diet now which I think will be good for her. I think now that she knows she has diabetes she’ll start to eat healthier and probably even feel and look better. Plus she’ll have to start seeing a doctor on a normal basis which I’m glad of.

I hope you all had a happy Black Friday Eve… I mean Thanksgiving. I swear that someday we will all forget what Thanksgiving is and just start calling it Black Friday Eve. Holidays are pretty much run by consumerism now anyway. The Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade was the beginning of this I think, it’s a harbinger of our consumerism.

I’ve been having a hard time writing my comics and drawing them lately. About two weeks ago I became the only full-time person working in my department. It has been scary and stressful and I can only hope it will get easier. I think this has taken a toll on my creativity and my passion for “Habitat.” I also get depressed that I’m not showing any signs of improvement, so I think why even try? I know I have to keep the mindset that I’m in this for the long haul but it get’s difficult just to do this thing for myself. I think my new goal is just to keep putting out a new comic every Friday and not worry about syndication right now. Slowly, as the comic progresses I’ll start to feel when it is time to take it to a syndicate. I have to start to love “Habitat” before I want to turn it into my “career.”

Once again, I’m sorry about the lack of comic but hopefully this post makes up for it. I’ve noticed that I get more “likes” and more comments on my journal posts so I have a suspicion that people like the journal entries more anyway. I hope to get back into the groove next week and I’ll have  brand new comic for you guys. As always, thanks for reading and I hope you continue tuning in!

Leave a Reply

