Journal Entry #18

Hey everybody! Time for another exciting blog post! I’ll try to make this as interesting as possible.

This morning my fiancé had surgery to get the plate and screws taken out of her ankle. Two years ago we were involved in a car accident and she broke and dislocated her ankle.  I was fine but my car was totaled. When the doctor took out the hardware he found she was missing cartilage from her ankle which is probably why she has been in pain for these past 2 years. The cause of the accident was an 86 year old man (driving without a valid license) who turned left in front of me and stopped in the middle of my lane while I was going close to 60 mph. Not a day goes by that I wish that man never existed.

I’m continuing my self-taught algebra lessons. Going back over the stuff now makes me wish I had tried even harder in my math classes. I did really try to get good grades in math but I always felt like a dummy when it came to math. It came so easy for others but I struggled. Toward the end of high school I avoided any extra math classes and just took what I needed. I figured “hell, I’m going into art, why do I need to know this stuff?” Now that I’m older I have a job that I will never need to use my math brain but I still would like to be knowledgable of it. So, I’m hoping, that I will continue to build on my algebra knowledge. I’m going to try to work my way through geometry (again), trigonometry, calculus, and maybe relearning physics and chemistry. Yes, I know teaching yourself is probably not as long-term as learning this stuff in a class but I still want to try. I’m a firm believer in “the self-made man.” I want to know how far I can build on the knowledge I accumulate. I never said I was sane. lol

I have also been trying to teach myself web design (html and css). That is another subject I hope I can build on. I’m trying to learn as much as I can on my own before i start any college programming classes. When I’m ready to re-enter the job market I want to be “the total package.” I want to be a graphic designer that knows how to build a website and make it pretty. Now that print is going the way of the dodo it will be good to know how to build a website. I’m going to practice by building my own personal website for myself and “Habitat.” I hoping within a year I’ll have an operational domain.

Well, that’s it for now. I know I always say this but I truly appreciate you reading and following my comic/blog. There is so much vying for your attention on the web and I really appreciate spending your time on my little comic/blog. 🙂 Thank you! New comic this FRIDAY!!!

One thought on “Journal Entry #18

Leave a Reply

