Journal Entry #17

Howdy folks! Although I don’t really have anything of substance to say, I thought I would post something just to let you know I still exist… plus I think people like knowing the boring, mundane things that go on in people’s lives… I know I do.

I’m still writing scripts for “Habitat” pretty much everyday. Even when I’m feeling uninspired I force myself to write a strip. Amazingly enough they turn out to be pretty funny (to me at the time.) I’m enjoying my time away from drawing the comic. I know that since I’m a cartoonist I should like drawing but I find drawing for an audience or for a goal stressful. I believe even one of my heroes, Chris Ware, said in an interview he rarely finds drawing pleasurable. I’m rarely pleased with how my stuff turns out so I struggle at making drawing pleasurable for myself as well. So every time you see my comic, be aware of my inner struggle to make it better! LOL

You’ll notice in the next comic (on Friday) that there is just a little bit of computer shading added to each panel. I’m thinking of doing a basic “talking heads” sort of comic for awhile until I can master drawing the faces of the characters. I started out the comic thinking I could be as detailed as Walt Kelly with “Pogo” but, now I think mastering one aspect of the comic at a time would be best. So in future comics you’ll probably see a bit of a de-evolutionized “Habitat.” I’m bringing it back to basics: just two characters from the waist up, text, speech bubbles, and gray background. I’m just letting you know so that when you see the upcoming comics you don’t wonder what the hell is going on. It may be more boring to look at but I’ll try to make up for it with the writing.

Lately, I’ve been getting up early to work on re-teaching myself algebra. I got myself a book from the library and I’ve been working on it every morning. This sounds insane but I do a have reasoning behind it. First, I’m trying to knock the cob webs out of my brain and trying to become more knowledgable of math and science. Second, If I do have to take any placement tests for math in college, I want to try to test out of as many math classes as possible. Thirdly, if I ever have a child it would be nice if I could help him or her with algebra homework.

I’ve blabbed for long enough. Thank you to everyone who continues to read my junk. LOL Stop by on Friday to see the new comic! PEACE!

Leave a Reply

