Journal Entry 14

Howdy folks! This is going to be a short blog post because I really don’t have much to say as far as “Habitat” goes. And because of not having much to say, I thought I would answer a commenter’s questions here in this post.

I was asked “why the name ‘Habitat’?” My initial idea was for a comic about all sorts of animals that you would find outdoors in a suburban setting. I still would like to add more characters into the mix but for now I want to concentrate on fleshing out Morton and Finn. I wanted the name of the comic to be short and sweet like “Peanuts” (even though Schulz hated that name) or “Pogo.” Another name I had in mind was “In the Neighborhood.” “Habitat” had a nice ring to it and it described nicely what the comic was about. No real secret meaning or anything cool like that.

To answer another question, I work full-time as a graphic designer for a small, local publication. I am responsible for ad design. Working as a graphic designer could be a cool job but it’s not where I work. I’ll just leave it at that.

One more thing and then I’ll end this. A funny, crappy thing happened to me this past Tuesday. During my lunch break I got locked out of my house while letting my dog out. So I was stuck with a dog and no keys or cell phone. I could have knocked on doors around the neighborhood to ask for a phone but my anti-social ass walked 3.3 miles (I checked) across town to my landlord’s house to be let into the house. It was a nice day and I enjoyed the weather but I got a blister on my foot and I was pretty sore the next day. Just goes to show how out of shape I am in.

OK, I’ve blabbed on long enough. Thanks for reading and I hope you keep enjoying “Habitat”! Peace.

2 thoughts on “Journal Entry 14

Leave a Reply

