Journal Entry #11

Hello all! It seems that I always start these journal entries by saying I don’t have much to say and then go on babbling longer than expected. This post will be about little things that are going on with the comic that may not have much importance to you but is good for me to keep track of.

Sketchbook drawing. Possible idea for t-shirt.

Sketchbook drawing. Possible idea for t-shirt.

First of  all, I’m starting to get to the end of my sketchbook. It feels good to have a document of the past couple of months (5 months, to be exact) since starting “Habitat.” The whole sketchbook is not just “Habitat” stuff but it still feels like I’m accomplishing something by nearing the end of its pages. I used to try and make every sketchbook drawing/page “perfect” but now I’ve just been using it for drawing practice which I think sketchbooks should be used for. I’ve finally discovered that (unfortunately) not all of us can start off with sketchbooks like R. Crumb, Chris Ware or Gary Panter. It takes patience and practice to create sketchbooks that are as artfully done as these guys.  It will be awhile before I will be able to trade my sketchbooks for a country house in France a’la R.Crumb. LOL

This past week I’ve been pretty stressed at work and that will continue for the next couple of of weeks. This worry and stress has unfortunately, resulted in missed strip writing days. I started with the mindset of writing a strip every day but I have missed a few days this past week. I’m not too worried though. I don’t feel like I have fallen into the habitat of being lazy about script writing. With the additional stress at my day job I tell myself that I don’t need to stress about writing everyday. I try not to feel guilty about not writing everyday but I think it is healthy for me to just relax and not worry about ANYTHING for at least a day.

In the next couple of strips you might notice that I’ve discovered a ruler! LOL I actually use the ruler a lot in my comic but usually trace over the blue line freehand. I’ve started to ink the comic using the ruler. It’s amazing the difference a straight edge can make! LOL I’ve also started using an oval stencil for the word bubbles which make the comic look way more professional. I started off this comic wanting to create everything (beside panel borders) freehand but now I use whatever I can to help me make the comic a little sharper.

I think I mentioned this in the previous journal entry but I would like to start a “Habitat” store soon. I haven’t researched all my online sales possibilities yet but I’ve been sketching ideas for t-shirt and mug ideas. I don’t really want to jump into the sales thing too quickly. For one, I think it could cheapen what I’m doing. I don’t want it to look like I’m only working on this comic to make a buck. (Although some money would be nice.) LOL Another reason I’m not jumping into sales too quickly is I want to take the time to create something that I would actually buy. I don’t want to create crap and expect people to buy it.

OK, I think I’ve taken this far enough. Before I go I want to thank all of you again for reading “Habitat.” It feels good to create something like “Habitat” for myself but with an online audience it makes it even more rewarding. I want to let you know I appreciate every single view, follow, comment and “like.” See you Monday! Peace.

Leave a Reply

