Journal Entry #10

Another sketchbook entry. I was inspired by Walt Kelly's self portrait in ink so I thought I would give it a shot. I'm satisfied with how it turned out.

Another sketchbook entry. I was inspired by Walt Kelly’s self portrait in ink so I thought I would give it a shot. I’m satisfied with how it turned out.

Hello again. In the coming weeks I’ll be making some changes to “Habitat.” I want to start working larger. I’m beginning to think that the comic can be a lot more interesting if I was given more room. I currently  have been able to fit two comics on to 11 x 17 in. Bristol board but each panel was only about 4 x 5 in. That makes for a pretty skinny panel. You will notice a change to Monday’s comic which I used on whole sheet of Bristol board for one comic. Each panel is now 6.25 x 5 inches. You’ll also notice it is very hard to read which I apologize for. I’ll be experimenting with panel size and layout in the coming weeks. I’m thinking of shrinking the comic down to 6 x 5 inches and maybe keeping the comic in two rows instead of making one long row that could make everything small on the website. For now, I want to stick with the 3-4 panel format but maybe a year from now I’ll start doing more adventurous layouts. I have always liked taking baby steps and seeing how things evolve.

I’ve also been toying with the idea of having a contest to celebrate/promote my 100th comic strip. I was thinking of giving away a piece of original art to either the 200th follower or maybe at a certain # of “likes.” I haven’t decided if i’ll even go through the trouble or not but I thought it would be a good promotional gimmick. I hope I can even make it to my 100th strip! Ha-ha!

Well, thats all for now. Thanks for reading and I hope you like the next comic. Look for more changes in the future! Peace!

Leave a Reply

