Journal Entry #6

So, I am now up to two strips a week. I originally wanted to take my time with each strip and maybe do only one or two a month but I’m sort of bending to the will of the Internet. I’ve started worrying more about how many visitors I have than making the comic better which was not my intention. In the heat of the moment, I purchased a domain name for 50¢ which I wasn’t going to do until I reached a certain amount of followers. It’s only 50¢ but I still betrayed my original idea.

I am also fiddling around with the idea of eventually buying a Cintiq Pen Display which was not my original intention. I wanted to keep this comic traditionally inked but I’m starting to wonder if going digital would be easier (and cheaper) in the long run. I’m not married to the idea of using only traditional ink but I do still want the look of a vintage comic strip such as “Pogo.” If I ever do go digital it won’t be until at least next May when I send my comics to syndicates. Right now, I’m better off concentrating on getting better with the brush pen.

I’m still not completely satisfied with the look of the comic but I’m sure that with practice I will begin to like what I’m seeing more. It’s not so much a problem now but I fear that in the future my motivation to do a strip every Wednesday and Saturday will wane. In the past I’ve posted strips to the Internet hoping for more and more viewers and then got disheartened when that didn’t happen. This time around my primary concern is to make a strip that syndicates would pick up and then get my motivation from making a strip I can be proud of. To be honest, I don’t think I’ve gotten there yet but I have to keep trying.

When May 2014 comes around and I send my stuff out and get no reply I will still keep up with the web comic. Every year I plan on sending out the comic to see if a syndicate will pick it up. Will I become rich and famous when I get picked up by a syndicate? No, but it will be accomplishing a dream I’ve had since I has a little kid reading the Sunday funnies.

Thanks for reading! New comic next Monday!

5 thoughts on “Journal Entry #6

  1. Kakalakola says:

    Best of luck man. 😀
    Also, if I may offer my 2 cents, perhaps what you want to aim for is discipline, rather than motivation.

  2. Danny Fry says:

    Keep at it! You’re getting better with every strip. I’m considering going on Comics Sherpa to get some more eyeballs once I have a nice buffer of strips. Take care!

    • Matt says:

      Thanks for the encouraging words, Danny! I considered Comic Sherpa too but I’m definitely not to that point. It’s always hard to decided when to start dishing out money for what was a relatively cheap hobby. lol Thanks again for the comment and I hope you keep reading my stuff!

Leave a Reply

