Journal Entry #4

Mortoncomic

Greetings true believers! No, this is not Stan Lee. This is M. Gonya with another blog post! Not quite as exciting, I know. I try to make these posts as interesting as possible but I’m probably the only one that gets a sick joy from them.

Last Saturday I went to a local pop-up gallery here in Kenosha to see the work of local cartoonists John Hambrock (The Brilliant Mind of Edison Lee), Dan Pavelich (Just Say Uncle), and Ryan Pagelow (Buni). The thing that I was most struck with is the tightness of Hambrock’s inking. It’s not until you see a comic in it’s raw form that you start to see that “oh, yeah… this is all done by hand.” Just seeing how careful his marks were gave me a new appreciation for the inking process. After going to that gallery showing I now know I have to step up my game.

Mortonsnackmachine

Since going to the gallery showing, I’ve been trying to draw everyday but it doesn’t always pan out. As you can see I’ve been experimenting with the look of the characters. The drawing of Morton at the top looks more like a yeti so I don’t think I’ll be adding fur lines to him in the actual strip.

I just finished reading the book “Mastery” by Robert Greene. Greene mentions that it takes 10,000 hours of practice to become a master. If that is the case I think I’ll become a master of my craft just about the time my bones turn to dust. Since reading the book, I’ve been trying to not waste a moment of my life by seeing the benefits in everything I do. Instead of being annoyed that I have to clean dishes I now see it as a way of getting chores out of the way to free up time for better things. I’ve also tried to make my trips to and from work brainstorming sessions for the comic so I’m not wasting time in the car.

My last topic of conversation is the website. I’ve been thinking a lot about this wordpress site. My idea is that I would like to have at least 200 followers before I start paying for a domain and host. I just hope that most of the traffic to this site will carry over. I want to get I nice, firm fan base before I start paying for stuff though. (Kinda like the Beatles having a #1 Hit in the U.S. before touring here.) Another issue I will be handling soon is the design of this site. I will probably be changing the theme to the “Panel” theme for the #11 strip. I hate to lose my header but I think the readability of the strip is more important.

Well, thank you for reading and i hope to see you all here on Friday! Peace.

One thought on “Journal Entry #4

Leave a Reply

