A Case Of The Mondays

Dog Days

OK, I lied. I’ve decided it is smarter to post Mondays and Fridays. So The plan is a blog post every Monday and my comic will post every Friday. Both at 10am CST. Sorry for any confusion.  Posting on Wednesdays just seemed too close to Friday.

In an attempt to stay motivated about “Habitat” I’ve been writing a strip a day. I think just writing out a rough script every day has kind of helped me shape the character’s personalities a bit more. It has also given me a little deeper well to go to when I have to decide what strip I’m going to do next. I haven’t written anything with more than just Morton and Finn in it yet. I would like those two to be perfected before I add more characters to the mix. I’m not lacking in strip ideas yet. I’ll usually have a general idea of what I want the strip to be about (examples: rain, the softness of grass, traffic patterns) and then I’ll brainstorm from there on what the characters will do and say. I usually have the idea while I’m working so I’ll just have to quickly write the idea down and then write the script during lunch or after work…. and sometimes during work. 🙂

I must admit that I got a little discouraged when I discovered the comic “Over The Hedge.” I thought it was just a animated movie but it is actually a comic strip as well. It is a very well done strip that is set in the outdoors as well which made me wonder if I should rethink my strip. I wanted to be more original and I was bummed that there was another strip doing it better than I was. Then I thought about it and figured that my strip is different enough that no one is going to accuse me of ripping off “Over The Hedge.” I even think my strip can be just as good, if not better than “Over The Hedge” if I keep working at it and sharpening my drawing and writing skills. It may seem like I have a big head but, at times you need that ego to keep yourself motivated.

Well, that’s all for now. I want to thank all of you for reading “Habitat.” It means so much to me when I see that someone “liked” a strip… yes, I sit and stare at my dashboard for hours on end waiting for the likes to come in. lol I really do appreciate your viewership though. Feel free to drop me a comment now and then. I would love to here from you! Thanks for reading! See you FRIDAY!!

2 thoughts on “A Case Of The Mondays

  1. Joseph says:

    I’m still ironing out my post days, too. I’ll need to post every other week since school is starting soon. I love Morton holding the ice cream cone. Great art, Matt!

    • Matt says:

      Hey Joseph, Thanks for commenting! I just took another look at your comic and your definitely produce some REALLY good stuff. From the perspective to the line work, it is all really top notch. I really appreciate the comments and I hope you keep tuning in!

Leave a Reply

