Model Sheet: The look of me.

Howdy all! So I’ve pretty much pinned down what I will look like in the graphic novel. What you see above is pretty much what I’ll look like with my glasses on and off. I usually draw myself with no glasses since I’ve just started wearing them relatively recently. I like the look that the “texturizing” of my hair gives. I think this is more interesting than just making my hair a solid black which is what I usually do.

This is a model-sheet that was done previous to the first six-panel comic. I’m going to stick with this look but just change the hair to the textured look. I’m pretty happy with the design.  I’ve decided to do just the outline in the fine tip Sharpie marker and then the inside line work and details with the ultra fine tip. Most of the book I’ll just be in t-shirt and jeans or a coat for wintertime. I still have to design what my winter clothes will look like but I’m glad I got the bulk of the designing done.

My only concern with working in Sharpie marker and panels not much bigger the 4 inch squared is limited room for stuff in panels. I’ll have to be clever when putting in my word balloons, laying out the page and what’s in the panels. I’m hoping that my own “style” is pleasing to the eye and doesn’t look too amateurish. I want something that looks kinda rough and raw, not something that looks like it was drawn by a third-grader. lol

With this page I started drawing certain body positions and what I would look like in a panel. To be honest, I’ve alway had trouble with realistic portrayal of anatomy… as you may have already figured out. I have a lot of trouble with how the head is seen on the body. I’ll have to work on that.

So this is what I have so far… The model-sheets (design of main character) was the last thing on my list of goals so I feel good that I’m moving forward. The next step is writing a script which I’ve set September deadline.

I hope you like what you see! Thanks for stopping by! Oh yeah… I don’t really think smoking makes you sexier. lol

2 thoughts on “Model Sheet: The look of me.

    • Matt says:

      Thanks! Your interest means a lot to me. I’m leaving myself a 3 month time limit on writing a script for this thing. Even though its pretty much autobiographical I think I still need to write something out before I start pencilling anything in. Thanks for the comment and support!

Leave a Reply

