Process and Accomplished Goals

Hey all! So I didn’t really get around to working on any real character design. Needless to say I don’t have any model sheets ready to be shown. I’m still struggling in my mind with how I want the style of the book to look. I want the style to be easy/simplistic enough on me that I can sustain drawing an entire book but I also want there to be enough detail to make the story more realistic, interesting, and believable. My big 3 comic influences are R. Crumb, Craig Thompson, and Jeffrey Brown. I would like to put them all in a blender and make something special of my own.

The little comic above is just practice for the book really. It was done with Sharpie marker on regular 8.5 x 11 printer paper. I think I will stick with the six grid format for the book though. I think working with that grid should be simple enough for me to work through a whole graphic novel. I will try to do as many as these practice one-page comics  as possible and post them when I’m done. I want to show my process and to see if I’m improving in any way I can. As you can see they aren’t really thought out very well but I want to keep at it up so I get better.

As far as goals and deadlines, I almost have everything crossed off my June deadline list! I have decided on the materials I will use for this project. This past weekend I spent under $20 for supplies I will need. I have written both of my artist statements. And my next September goal list has already been made but, I will get into that more in a later post. Soon I will develop the look of the character and I will complete my final task before June hits.

That’s all for now. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Process and Accomplished Goals

  1. ackers23 says:

    I dig your stuff Matt, this comic strip pretty much sums up my attitude with every comic I draw. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

