Beginnings

In previous posts I really didn’t get into much of how or why I’m doing an autobiographical graphic novel. I’ll cover those subjects now.

I had been thinking of illustrating a children’s book for a long time. As a matter of fact I have a whole other idea set aside for a children’s book that I might try to tackle after I finish  at least one book. I switched to the autobiographical idea because it would be a nice introduction of myself as a “professional artist.” It’s not that I have a big ego and consider myself an important artist, I just want to start my professional art career with a book that shows the human experience from my perspective. I think it is good for every human to face themselves at some point and what better (and challenging) way to do so than the autobiographic graphic novel?

I am also 33 years old this year and I felt it was time to to do something that I can really be proud of and call my own. I am going to try to get this book published by a publishing house so I know this has to be good to get my foot in the door. I see this book as a major stepping-stone to a more artistically fulfilling career. At age 33 , its either now or never.

How am I going to complete this book within a years time? That is a good question. LOL I hope I can get it published professionally (or by myself) by sometime next year. I have been doing planning and rough timelines to see how long each step will take and I’m hoping that I will stay focused enough to stick to the schedule.

What you see in this picture is all I am using to create this book. (plus the scanner which is not shown)

I have always been fond of the DIY ethic in the world of comics. This project is going to be very simplistic in terms of how I’m creating the thing. I set myself a $200 budget so everything will be done with cheap, basic supplies. To cut costs I am using art supplies that I already own. I’ll be using just a basic Uniball rollerball pen and a cheap sketchbook to create the book. I think the sketchbook idea is good because then I’m not locked to my drawing table and it fits in my scanner. Since this my first book I want it to be very simple in terms of materials used and the design of the book. I want to show that something beautiful can still be created using very simple and cheap materials and techniques.

I will be using: a cheap Mead academic sketchbook, a Uniball "Eco" rollerball pen, a Sharpie marker, a Pentel mechanical pencil and eraser.

In a way I see this book as a certain evolution of myself. This book is just the beginning. After mastering a simple pen I will move on to other more expensive art materials. After I finish an autobiography I want to move on to a more imaginative story. I see this as a learning experience.

Leave a Reply

